About

About the Blog

One Stef at a Time is a Travel & Lifestyle blog by Stef Ching. Here, she chronicles her not-so-mundane happenings, random thoughts and experiences, plus a hodgepodge of other things just ’cause she can’t seem to stick to one topic.

The blog started out in May 2017, a few months after Stefanie graduated high school as an outlet for her restlessness prior to starting freshman year in college. She continues to blog to date, simply because she’s having loads of fun doing it and remains inspired to do so, as she dabbles in her other interests and loves namely volunteering, travelling, food, reading, and binge watching TV series like K-drama ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁).

This space serves as an extension of myself where I pour out my thoughts and keep track of my growth and experiences. Not gonna lie, I’m not the best writer, but I am an honest writer. Here, you’ll expect me to be unabashedly open and honest about myself as I share my (mis)adventures, feelings (wow ah) and mini-rants with you, with a few sarcastic side comments here and there, on how I take life one Stef at a time (hahahuhu laugh at my pun please).

Behind the Blog

screen-shot-2019-12-23-at-10.15.13-am.png

Talking about myself from third person POV is so weird but let’s do this.

Stefanie Ching, who prefers to be called Stef Ching or just Stef/Ching, is a nineteen year old who loves bacon more than she loves people.

Currently, Stefanie resides in one of the 7,107 islands of the Philippines and dreams of travelling around the world to meet new people, immerse herself in different cultures, and gain new experiences, but mostly she wants to be able to make an impact in the lives of others. While she’s still in the process of achieving all this, she hopes that you enjoy going through her blog and pick up a little something from it.

As of April 2019, I’m 19 years old–so here are 1+9 (mostly random) facts about me for you to get to know me better:

  • I don’t know how to ride a bike. My dad tried to teach me how to ride a bike when I was 10, but he let me “bike on my own” a.k.a let go of me way too soon and I ended up falling into a bush. This resulted to my fear of riding bikes. That, and I really suck in balancing.
  • I love anything matcha. dogs. people. Not necessarily in that order, though.
  • I am a firm believer that a little kindness and a lot of positivity goes a long way.
  • All the traits you’ve read about Sagittarius are applicable to me and are unarguably true i.e.:

Strengths: Generous, ambitious, great sense of humor (hue, I’m punny.), enthusiastic, optimistic.

Weaknesses: Promises more than can deliver, aggressive, incredibly impatient, will say anything no matter how undiplomatic (sometimes I’m really way too honest), relies too much on luck rather than planning to see things through.

  • Two childhood dreams of mine are to be able to give a TED talk and to become a doctor. While the latter seems near impossible, due to my apparent fear of gory things and needles, I’m still hoping that some day I’ll be able to give a talk up on stage and inspire others by sharing my stories.
  • I’m the middle child (and the only girl among us three siblings).
  • As much as I love to travel, I haven’t gone sightseeing anywhere locally, but I’ve been to a few countries (still hoping to add more to this list in the coming years) —- Hong Kong, China, Macau, Cambodia, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Taiwan, US (I wrote about my travel experiences in Las Vegas and LA here!), Canada and Indonesia.
  • Like most kids, one of the first series I picked up was Geronimo Stilton (HAHAHA), but if I had to name a series that really got me into reading (+ Greek mythology), it would be the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.
  • I am currently taking up BS Chemistry with a Minor in Business because I want to set an example that women can excel in both science and commerce among other things.
  • One of my proudest achievements in life is beating two boys in an eating contest (on two separate occasions: pabilisan not paramihan HAHAHA).

Let’s connect:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Snapchat | Bloglovin